Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Seeking Advice - Moved to Spain from USA

Hi all,

Thank you for having me here. I have moved to Madrid, Spain from Seattle, USA about a month ago. I hold an FAA cert (SEL,SES,MEL,IR,Glider and Complex,High alt, tail wheel endorsements) with 500+ hours of time. I am a resident here in Spain and will be so for the next 2-4 years due to a long term work assignment. I personally can’t abandon the hobby/passion. I am looking for advice on how to fly in Spain as GA and rest of EU. First step I am taking is I found an outfit that will help me with FAA to EASA conversion after tests and everything said and done looks to cost about 1500 euros. I am also considering of maybe purchasing an N reg aircraft here in EU but this seems to be problematic since you might not be able to use your FAA cert based on the EASA rules on residency. All and any advice on how I should proceed is welcome. My main goal is to fly on weekends (as regularly as possible) as well as travel all over EU to visit and explore. I want to fly at least 50-100 hours a year if possible. Sharing as much detail as I can to pain the picture of the mission I want to accomplish.

Thank you.
Rus

Rus
Spain

Rus wrote:

First step I am taking is I found an outfit that will help me with FAA to EASA conversion after tests and everything said and done looks to cost about 1500 euros.

First of all, kudos for willign to continue to fly. Good idea to get an EASA license and your only chance of getting in the air and being 100% on the safe side. 1500€ sounds low though. If you haven’t flown in Europe before, you will likely need MANY hours before you are familiar with the differences. Plus a lot of ground school / tuition.

Rus wrote:

I am also considering of maybe purchasing an N reg aircraft here in EU but this seems to be problematic since you might not be able to use your FAA cert based on the EASA rules on residency.