Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Proof of concept

I looked at a Lear Fan, and spoke with Mrs. Lear (following Bill Lear’s passing) in the early ’80’s. The aircraft was fascinating. It’s challenge was mixing completely new structural technology, with a very new powerplant system. The result probably boggled the FAA. Either on its own might have found a way through certification, but the combination was too much.

The two engines into one propeller was a problem. It was not a true twin engined aircraft in the certification sense. The approach taken was to consider it like a multi engine helicopter. You can loose an engine okay, but not the drive system nor rotor. There was a really cool gearbox design, I studied the cutaway carefully. It had helical gears, such that each gear could loose an entire tooth, and the gearbox would still work adequately for a while. For loss of lubrication, there was a block of wax bolted into the gearbox. If the oil was lost, the gearbox would get hot. If that happened, the wax would melt, and coat the gears for a while. When the wax melted, a set of contacts cast into the wax would then spring closed, and close a circuit. That illuminated a cockpit light, which could be interpreted to mean get it on the ground quick, you’ve not got long. 30 minutes was the time stated.

I also heard that there were concerns about how the composite structure would handle a lightning strike. I know that the Diamond D Jet considered this a real risk, and the ones which I saw being built were entirely covered in a fine copper mesh. I guess it helped with lighting, but certainly prevented the bad people scanning your credit cards!

Ultimately, the Lear Fan would have been a hard sell for a world used to a true multi engined aircraft, but it sure was innovative!

Home runway, in central Ontario, Canada, Canada

I don’t know about the charter market, but Beechcraft if not under Chapter 11…