Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Differences for flying in UK

There are just a few such services (which help with routings over the phone) around Europe now. Most people are totally on their own and this has been the case for many years. The Autorouter is the best tool right now, with Foreflight looking like it will be as good at some point (as well as being a good tablet app for VFR+IFR flying).

I’ve been using routing tools since 2005 and they have been good since 2008. It is the only practical way when you are on the move.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

Aviathor, I am an old tech sort of a person but I am trying to learn as much as possible which is one of the reasons I am such an avid follower of euroga. But on many occasions the posts go well beyond what my tiny brain can take in.
The reason I tend to use BRIA is that I can chat through my flight plan, where there might be a bottleneck and also he will chat direct with Eurocontrol to find the best plan for me, all done whilst I am on the phone and with a great deal of empathy on their behalf.
But you are right I will have to learn autorouter, especially if that is what Peter used to produce those screenshots, excellent.

France

gallois wrote:

To fly IR I simply file a zulu flight plan over the phone to the local BRIA

That’s very old tech. As is Olivia. You should consider the autorouter. See the screen captures posted by Peter.

LFPT, LFPN

Dinard to Exeter could not be simpler, IFR or VFR. Here is one IFR version, filed at FL070:

and here is Dinard to Southend which is FL100, probably because there are some predefined crossing routes at FL090-100 through the Gatwick and Heatrow traffic. I read somewhere that there are such London TMA (LTMA) crossing routes, reserved for GA.