Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Cost of retrofitting an autopilot to a homebuild?

Could anyone give me a ballpark figure on how much it would cost to retrofit an autopilot to a non-certified (homebuild) aircraft?

I’ve become aware of an aircraft which might come up for sale soon. One, among a on a number of things, which it is missing is an autopilot. I’d like to get an idea of how much I should budget to get one fitted if I were to buy it.

Some further information. The avionics fit is fairly basic with a Dynon D100 EFIS.
I’d like, in time, to upgrade that to a Dynon Skyview, so the autopilot should be compatible with that.

I have no experience with avionics, so at minimum I’m going to need a lot of help with installing it. More realistically, I’d probably need to pay someone else to do it. (Unless they come with IKEA type instructions that I can follow! – I seriously doubt that they do).

I’m not looking for an exact quote! Just a very rough idea (or range) of how much I should budget for that post acquisition. (I’ve read €20K mentioned in a few places but that was in relation to certified aircraft. Is this also reasonable on homebuild aircraft?)

EIWT Weston, Ireland

Well, I’m sure you’ll get more opinions on that question than there are posters here…
In a nutshell, if you really desire an AP, you need a control head (or control panel), 2 servos, and some eventual interfacing. ACS offers some choice, with the Trio and the Bendix XCruze, so you should able to get a non-installed system for under 5K$.
Welcome to the homebuilt/experimental world 👍🏻

Dan
ain't the Destination, but the Journey
LSZF, Switzerland

Dynon offer several autopilots. One is a slide in replacement for STEC55
Then there is the addition to Skyview which IIUC adds €1000 to the cost of the Skyview itself.
Then they sell serves at $800 each.
They do a control panel which IIIC is compatible with other APs at around €800
Skyview autopilot and a D10/D100 series.