Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

VFR navigation via IFR intersections/waypoints

Good evening altogether,

since I’m a microlight pilot, I’m a complete newbie to IFR flying. Nevertheless, I found out by reading many threads on euroga.org, that there are many VFR pilots using IFR intersections/waypoints for their navigation. Since there are no IFR pilots on my homebase, I would love to get some information about that topic from you.

To begin with IFR navigation, I switched my SkyDemon from VFR mode to the “Airways mode”. In this mode, it shows me the IFR airways and the corresponding waypoints with their designators. With that, I should be able to plan my route alongside the IFR waypoints.

At this point I’d like to hear your experiences: Does it really give you any advantage flying from waypoint to waypoint, i.e. get direct-to’s to another waypoint crossing a CTR or a ED-R? Or is it only for the fun of the pilot to try something new?

Sorry if I ask that undiscerning, but I never was in touch with any IFR flying before! Also, I don’t even know how to spell the waypoints correctly on radio: Is it e.g. BOMBI spelled as “Bombi” or is it “Bravo-Oscar-Mike-Bravo-India”? You see, there are many basic questions from my side, and I would be very happy for any help.

Thanks in advance,

Greetings, Tobias

EDSO, Germany

Using IFR waypoints if mostly easier instead of using town names/other landmarks in an unfamiliar area.
BOMBI is BOMBI, if anything is unclear you clarify and the phonetic alphabet will be used.
I don’t think the use of an IFR waypoint instead of a VFR reporting point will make much difference in receiving a CTR crossing approval.
If you use FIS/flight following they might have a better idea of where you are going using IFR waypoints instead of town names…