Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

New to EASA world

Hi,
First post here. Thanks Peter for the great site. You manage to bring some nice and positive people. Difficult to keep the discussion level that high and respectful.

So i am new to easa and would need to be put on track. I flew the last 8 years in the USA with my FAA PPL, accumulated something like 500hours and got my IR with some other ratings. Just moved to Germany 3 months ago. I went few weeks ago to the UK to get my Easa ppl (no IR yet). All was done in 5 days. Need the caa to send the paper to begin to fly.

So now i want to fly in Germany and all over Europe. Come the question of RT privilege. I have the UK RT and language proficiency level 6 in english. But nothing for German RT.
So here is my question. Do i need to get the German RT (azf, bzf I or II) in order to fly G plane and talk German in the air? The English LP6 should cover me for the flight outside Germany as long as I am talking in English. Or do i also need the BZF I or AZF to fly outside Germany and speak English?

There is a thread here for the French only fields but it is more for people visiting France. instructing thread but my case is a little bit different. I guess as a French citizen, i will speak French when visiting and hope the blue truck isn’t on the field!

Damn, i so miss the US common sense! Lucky me, i found a club with 7 planes (5 of them are “recent”) and 60 flying members. Plane availability shouldn’t be a factor :-)

Thanks
Emmanuel

LFBR

Do i need to get the German RT (azf, bzf I or II) in order to fly G plane and talk German in the air?

No, you only need to comply with UK requirements. Forget about AZF/BZF I and BZF II, only created to torture German license holders.

Oh boy. Why did you reopen this can of worms ? Welcome back to Europe. Home is where you put your suitcases down.