Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Iceland

Colleagues, I am tentatively planning a trip to Iceland this summer, and would like to draw on the collective experience. The aircraft will be a Grumman AA-5B, IFR-equipped, with the range of 575 NM + reserve. The route will probably be LKBU Bubovice – EDHK Kiel – ENZV Stavanger – (possibly EGPB Sumburgh) – EKVG Tórshavn – BIEG Egilsstaðir, then a couple of weeks around Iceland (BIRK Reykjavík, BIAR Akureyri and whatever else comes to mind), then back the same way; if anyone has alternative suggestions or important facts I should know about these aerodromes, please respond.
One important thing I have no experience with is survival equipment. I am inclined to buy a used survival suit rather than rent it; with a life raft, I am looking at all possible options. Please voice your suggestions on this and everything else you consider important!
I am also open to having a companion, either in my aircraft or in a different one – is anyone interested?
Anton

LKBU (near Prague), Czech Republic

Contact Lawrence Rippon..

He did it one or two years ago in a Commander 112.

For details pm me

Anton on my to do list, but in a Super Cub – so would need a two month window to ensure I pick a nice day to make the sea crossings!

There is a fly in in some remote back country airfield every August – will see if I can locate the details.

The local aircraft have quite a high representation of classics, Cessna 170, Piper Apache, Yaks.

Oxford (EGTK), United Kingdom

I’m jealous ;)

EIWT Weston, Ireland

You can probably rent survival gear from Andrew Bruce at Far North Aviation, Wick and return it on the way back. SEMS in Basildon also do rentals.