Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

MOGAS airplane

I am a PPL sea plane pilot based in Bucharest (LRPV) & Tulcea (LRTC) Romania.

I am considering buying an aircraft in the next couple of years.

Due to the shortage of AVGAS in the Balkans and the east part of the Mediteraneean I was thinking about a MOGAS compatible one (like a Tecnam 2006t, the new Pipistrel Panthera, CTLS, etc).

For european trips is it a good ideea? Or MOGAS is non-existent on any of the airports that all of you visited?

Thank you for your feed-back!

LRTC, LRPV, LFPN

Mogas is indeed not available (in the sense of: officially available for sale, “commercially”, from a pump) in most of Europe. About the only countries that have such infrastucture are Germany, Austria and, to a certain degree, Italy and Spain.

In some places you may find someone (or a club) which has an (illegal?) tank in the back of the hangar, but of course, this information is usually not published and one can’t really rely on these sources when touring. In many other places, epsecially in the ultralight scene, it is common to get the fuel from a nearby fuel station using jerrycans. This however is only half feasible if your aircraft burns less than 20 litres an hour.

Ethanol is another problem.

Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany

Most mogas airplanes can take avgas so there is no problem on international travel.

One brave gentleman keeps up maps of Germany and Austria indicating availability of various fuels. Unfortunately neither seems to be really up to date so you certainly need to verify the information.