Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Is it safe to ignore EGT if CHT is OK?

Hi EuroGA, this is my first time posting here, although I’ve been a long time reader and have learnt a lot from you, thank you for that.

I tried searching for this but while I found some leaning threads of course, I didn’t find a definitive answer to my question here. Please point me to it if this has been discussed before.

I’m not fortunate enough yet to be able to own, but I rent a lovely C182P with a Continental O-470 and a JPI 930 which gives me per-cylinder CHT and EGT values, as well as a precise fuel flow and other information.

Per POH the A/C originally shipped with something called Cessna Economy Mixture Indicator which if I understand correctly is really a single cylinder EGT probe. The POH has pretty detailed instructions for leaning, but most importantly it lists:

I routinely cruise at around 75% power or FT if higher, anywhere between 3000 and 9000ft. If I lean using the EGT+75 method with the JPI I get approximately the fuel flows and speeds by the book.

I realized, however, that most of the time I can lean considerably further without any roughness, all while keeping the CHTs under 380F. That can easily bring the FF down from the book 13.4 GPH to about 12.5.

Do you think it’s safe to ignore the EGTs and lean to CHT < 380F, assuming the engine runs smoothly?

Thank you for sharing your opinion.

Marcell

Last Edited by Marcell at 04 Oct 11:14
LHTL, LHBS, Hungary

@Marcell there is probably a max EGT around 1600oF?

The issue for leaning at 75% is that peak places you in the ‘box’, and also plus 75oF ROP is arguably in the box where cylinder wear increases, and in theory there is a risk of detonation. With a non fuel injected -470 am guessing the EGT spread is also quite wide.