Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Windy Approach - Would you have decided the same as I?

Hello guys,

born and raised in Austria, I decided last august to start with the PPL and move on for the CPL/ATPL licence. At the moment I’m studying for the theoretical ATPL exams, which will take place in Vienna. Well… If there is enough time I spend my free time in the air, flying around with Cessna and Diamond airplanes.

At the moment I can record 130 hrs as a PIC and 180 hrs total time.

But now back to the topic:

“If you expect a windy approach, focus and keep watch of your speed, flight path, RWY centerline and the touch down zone”, that is what my FI told me repeatedly during my period of training.
Of course, after a 3 hour flight back from Tuscany, avoiding several CBs and changing the flightplan in flight twice, the landing was a challenge on the one hand, but a very good opportunity for practice on the other hand.
Have I ever thought about diverting? Yes, but I knew the airport very well, I knew the procedures and most importantly I had a RWY length of 3000 m.

Would you have decided the same as I? Do have any hints for rookies like me? ;-) Don’t hesitate to comment!

W/V 175/20 175V280 20G30
RWY Direction: 166 (17c

Last Edited by MAF at 27 Jun 20:34
MAF
LOWG

MAF wrote:

Do have any hints for rookies like me?

No criticism whatsoever. But since you asked for hints, here’s mine! It’s probably worth what you paid for it…nothing. I’m not an instructor, just a PPL like yourself.

You didn’t have a cross wind really….just turbulence. In these conditions, I like to take a steeper approach (not a dive bomb approach, but a bit steeper than normal, and steeper that you seem to be), and not carry any extra speed.

If I suddenly need extra speed, that can be solved by pushing forward, and I’ll get instant speed.
If I need to postpone landing that can be done with a bunch of power.