Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Weather forecast - current sources in 2022

Hello,
I am quite new at flying in europe.
What weather forecast tools/products do you all use for x-country (x-europe) flying?

Last Edited by aquila at 02 Feb 03:25
LIAP / LIBP, Italy

and SkyDemon since it integrates navigational, performance, and weather tools.
AeroWeather for a quick glance.
Used MeteoEarth for a few years, but find Windy far superior nowadays.

Dan
ain't the Destination, but the Journey
LSZF, Switzerland

AeroWeb

France

Aeroweb is legal. Actually I have heard that BEA is checking that PIC did check the weather through its account when studying an GA accident.

Last Edited by greg_mp at 02 Feb 07:56
LFMD, France

Aeroweb is legal

What do you mean by legal? 95% of Europe who operate VFR & IFR legally under NCO never heard of it or used it, including flying in France, I can’t give names but if interested I know one guy I know who operate Travsavia at Orly, who does not use AeroWeb for his weather breifs

This reminds me of UK IRE showing one German IR pilot at Stapleford how to print F214 & F215 forms as it’s illegal requirement to carry printed copies when flying…

AIP GEN 3.5 and Part-NCO are very clear on what counts as legal weather breifing (Part-CAT has extra legal requirements to operate on official TAF), what you get as “value” from AeroWeb is a logged trace of weather data used for flight planning but you can get that on SkyDemon, ForeFlight, AutoRouter breifing packs, all are 100% legal of course…