Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Airports that require special qualifications

La Flèche city center is very nice.
Is there a way to support them ?

LFOU, France

@gallois I’m no expert, just just repeating what I read in Info-Pilote. Thank you for the background; it’s always good to hear positive news.

EGHO-LFQF-KCLW, United Kingdom

@Capitaine IIUC even shortening the rwy to 800m they still (as far as the DSAC/DGAC) have a problem with trees being too high.
Not sure how they are going to get round that. But where there is a will, as they say.
The club is obviously convinced that it will because they have just bought a 1969 DR315 at auction for just less than €11,000 and will be using this for the school once they have finished the maintenance which apparently they will do in house. The only major cost is a new radio at €4000 AIUI. This will add to their " fleet "of a DR 400 and a D112
They are also hoping to get their fuel station up and running again. I hope it all works out well for them they are a dynamic bunch and its been a bit depressing for them since the aerodrome was closed. Last November I think? Or is time passing.me by quicker than I thought?

France

La Flêche LFAL is applying to reopen to GA. They have shrunk their runway from 1400×80m to 800×40m, to limit maintenance, bring it closer to standard, and avoid a line of trees. They should know the decision by the end of 2023, and have bought some bicycles for visiting pilots in anticipation (town centre, river beach, and zoo are all cyclable in under 20 minutes).

Reading between the lines, it sounds like they had their restricted status imposed upon them at some point in the past due to runway dimensions and obstacles. I can’t find any relevant accidents on the BEA site though.

EGHO-LFQF-KCLW, United Kingdom

LSWS, taking place as of yesterday & today only, usually once a year when conditions (ice thickness) allow… and yes, requires special qualifications…

Dan