Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Renting aircraft in Madrid (Cuatro Vientos, LECU)

Hi,

I’d like to hear about your experiences of renting aircraft in Madrid’s GA airport Cuatro Vientos (LECU). I hold an EASA PPL(A) license with Danish and English radio certificates and I’ve previously had a few training flights with an instructor from Club de Vuelo TAS. I love the area – especially the mountainous area not far from the airport. My wife is from Madrid and I would like to take a flight once in a while around the area to the west of Madrid whenever we visit our family there. 😃

Unfortunately, Club de Vuelo TAS is quite bureaucratic and has a lengthy process for being checked out on their fleet (which consists of a range of Piper 28 planes that I have a lot of experience in). Do you know of any alternative flight school or operator where you can rent aircraft (preferably PA28 or C172) with minimal assessment prior to solo flight?

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
Sebastian

PPL(A), Roskilde Flying Club
EKRK, Denmark

I used to fly with TAS a long time ago. My last flight there was probably around 4/5 years ago at least, so probably things have changed, but it was the easiest and more relaxed option in LECU back then. There is a very good club with good aircrafts (no Piper in the fleet), AERIS, but to be honest I’m not sure that it would fulfil your requirement of ‘minimal assessment prior to solo flight’. In fact, if your intention is to fly just from time to time, I’d say you’ll be required to do a checkout flight every time in almost every school/club.

Other option could be Lecu Aviation. I have no first hand experience with them, but the rest of options are mainly CPL schools where renting, if possible, is going to be more bureaucratic than TAS. In general, they don’t have any interest in renting.

LECU - Madrid, Spain