Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Taking my MU2 to Europe (Mode S EHS etc)

Hi all,

I am a US pilot with a US registered MU2 and I’ve joined EuroGA to find out more about flying in Europe. I am deciding whether to bring my plane to England for 4-5 months at the end of this year for the purpose of flying around Europe as a tourist.

Are there are any operators of turboprops or jets on this forum? Their experience would be most directly applicable to my situation.

I have a lot of questions around required equipment, insurance, paperwork, flight plans, fuel, fees, airports, etc. From what I have read so far, it seems to much easier in the US by comparison that I want to study it a lot before I go.

Have I come to the right place?

Mike C.

KEVV

Definitely yes.

If you have the money and time to do it, I would really recommend it to you. It allows you to combine flying with seeing very interesting, very diverse places. At MU2 speeds, every flight hour will take you into completely different worlds.

Point is: there are loads if differences between flying in the US and in Europe. Actually, there isn’t even anything like Europe in this sense, because countries are a bit different one from the other.

One could write books abouts the differences. One user here (who is from the US) has now been based here for a couple of years, yet is still struggling with the adaption to European GA…;-)

But don’t let that discourage you. After all, it’s flying, and under IFR at least, it is basically doing what ATC says.

Flightplans are a bit different here.
Many airports require prior permission before you can fly there / park there.
Depending on where you fly, you will have to take “customs” and “immigration” requirements into account.
Overflight permits are only required for a few very eastern European countries.
No XM weather.

Last Edited by boscomantico at 11 Feb 16:08
Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany