Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

New Student - A few different questions

Good Evening,

Newbie here so go easy… ! Just starting out with lessons in the 172SP. Really enjoying it so far, and getting good feedback from my instructors. I should have started long ago, but here we are…

A few questions, if I could call on the collective opinion here…

1) Headsets. I want something decent, many I know have the Bose A20 but something is drawing me to the Lightspeed PFX. Same price as the A20’s – does anyone have any experience with them? I know there is a school of thought that says buy something cheap when starting out, but I’d like something comfortable and that gives the best protection to my ears so I don’t mind spending money here – if it doesn’t work out they’ll eBay fairly successfully I’m sure.

2) Kneeboards. Looking for something that will take an iPad mini as well as a notepad – any recommendations?

3) Which retailers are worth using in the UK for aviation bits and bobs? Are any particularly good in terms of customer service?

4) I find my palms get very sweaty when holding the yoke which in turn makes it difficult to grip. Does anyone else suffer the same problem, gloves a solution?

5) Is there such a thing as a portable device that will connect to the iPad and provide traffic information (Location & height) into SkyDemon and plot traffic onto the map? I see lots of talk of ADS-B, but wondered if there was a favourite solution among forum members that don’t own their own aircraft and need something portable.

6) Any worthwhile bits worth buying from experience? Things worth having on me when flying?

7) My iPad doesn’t have GPS as it’s not the cellular version. Recommendations for an external GPS – or is it worth upgrading to the LTE iPad that has GPS built in. Articles online suggest that the internal GPS can drop in and out when flying.

Thanks in advance for the help!

StumblingTrout wrote: