Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

New Diamond DA42-VI Configuration

Hi! I am looking to order a new DA42-VI. I am new to flying in Europe and it would mostly be used in Scandinavia with the occasional trip to south Europe in the winter. Before I talk more with the sales rep about configuration, I would be happy to get anyones input on what options are smart to get or not! Below are the options and my thoughts, but again I am a beginner, so feel free to let me know what you think!

Honeywell KN 63 DME – ?? Someone said this was required in EU for IFR, but another said only for commercial operations? Without this, I can stil get GPS DME off a point on the G1000, correct? Or?

Becker 3500 remote ADF – No

WX 500 Stormscope – No, seems unnecessary with the Radar

Avidyne TAS 605 – No, have read it conflicts with the ADS

Flight data recorder – No, I think this is for flight schools?

Digital standby altitude module – No

Garmin GWX 70 Radar – Yes

Garmin GSR 56 Iridium satellite datalink – Yes? Anything I should know here regarding usage in Europe?

Garmin Synthetic Vision – Yes? I thought this would be standard on the G1000.

Garmin GTX 345R ADS-B in/out – Yes

Flight stream 510 – Yes

Jeppesen PilotPak – Thoughts? Not sure how this compares to using Foreflight, etc.

Air conditioning – Tricky one here. It isn’t cheap of course and weighs 41kg, and additional complexity. Anyone know if it has proven to be reliable in the Diamond? Of course, on a $1m new airplane I am not looking to skimp on options. But I am mostly flying around Scandinavia and more concerned with -20C temps. I will be doing the occasional trip to Southern Europe, but in the winter months. Skip it?

TKS – Yes

Oxygen – No. Can do an aftermarket later.

Electrically operated rudder pedals – No, Ive read they create more problems than help.

Tablet mount – Yes

Removeable right hand stick – Yes?

Am safe belts with airbags – Thoughts? Are they more/less uncomfortable?