Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Part M and hopefully not as much chaos as I think

Hi @ all,

I’m new in this forum, please excuse that my english isn’t the best, I’ll try my best to explain my problem, but I’ll probably won’t always find the right words, so hopefully you’ll understand what I’m getting at.

I’ve read many, many threads here and found a lot of interesting stuff in relation to my questions, but some things still remain in the dark. It’s all about the topic “what has to happen with parts after an incident if they should get installed into a new body/cell”. Unfortunately, it’s a little more complex than I’ve thought one year ago.
I myself have nothing to do with airplanes, neither I’m a pilot nor I know much about things like maintenance etc.. but my boyfriend does, and I’m trying to support him, but maybe I’ll express some things like a noob – that’s what I am.
In 2018 he bought an 1 year old ELA1-airplane (sailplane with rotary engine, in German we say “Eigenstarter”, sorry, I don’t know the exact english word for it!) for round about 220.000 Euros from a private seller. It was sold as accident free and all documents looked like this was the truth. The seller bought it directly from the manufacturer, each Form 1 declared the status “new” etc., so it was approved by the LBA in Germany as a new airplane and got its Certificate of Airworthiness.