Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Introduction, greetings to everybody & help, pls.

Hello everybody. I read the FAQ to know where to introduce me, but I couldn’t find the answer :) so I thought the hangar could be a good place to do it. Pls, excuse me if I’m wrong and I’d be grateful if somebody addresses me in the correct direction.
My name is Jaime, my base (to be) is Mallorca and I’m a totally newbie to aviation. First and second thing would have been difficult to know, but last one you’ll notice inmediately, so pls forvige me if any question I make sounds too silly, most will sound just silly :).
I need your help with something as I’ve got contradictory informations. I asked an instructor if I could fly all over Europe with an “ultralight” licence (I ignore the correct class but it’s less than 450 kgs.) and he answered “yes, you could”. Five minutes later the same matter came up with another instructor and he told me ultrralight was limited to own’s country. So, what should I believe? I’m puzzled.
TIA for your help and excuse my poor english.

Hah, welcome to the world of private aviation! Some PPL-pilots do not like ultralights and will tell all kind tell-tales about them.

1) ultralights are not under European (EASA) rulings, they are regulated country by country, in national law. There are quite some differences between national regulations – just to name one example, Germany requires a ballistic parachute while Austria requires an ELT. Many more examples available.

2) Most European countries accept ultralights from other countries, under bilateral agreements

3) some European countries require an overflight permit for foreign ultralights, which may or may not come at a cost; it is not always enforced.

Tip: from an EASA point of view, ultralights are called “Annex II aeroplanes”, just like experimentals and warbirds