Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

IFR Training Approach at EHAM

Dear all,
I am an IR instructor and have a request from a club mate to do a flight with him to Schipol. We don’t want to land, just one approach, low pass and then back to our home base in Germany.

Does anybody know if that is at all possible ? A slot will be required, of course and there is this section in the AIP, that I copied below my post.

Has anyone tried this before ? And do you have any idea how much the cost for such an enterprise would be ?

Thanks for your advice,

Thomas

7 TRAINING AND TEST FLIGHT REGULATIONS
7.1 General
Training flights and test flights from/to Schiphol Airport are only permitted MON-FRI daily 0600-2100 (0500-2000), but not on public holidays (see GEN 2.1). However, the following test flights are exempted from these restrictions:

urgent test flights related to corrective maintenance with the objective to restore airworthiness of aircraft;
test flights from/to Schiphol Airport that perform tests only outside the Schiphol CTR.
These two exemptions are also permitted on SAT, SUN and public holidays daily 0800-1800 (0700-1700), provided they have permission of the Operational Helpdesk (in conformity with the standard procedure, see ENR 1.3).

All training and test flights must be co-ordinated 24 HR in advance with:

Operational Helpdesk
P.O. Box 75200
1117 ZT Luchthaven Schiphol
Tel: +31 (0)20 406 2201 (OPR HR: 0600-1600 (0500-1500))
Email: [email protected]
URL: http://www.lvnl-ohd.nl
Furthermore, all training and test flights must have obtained, in advance, the explicit permission of the Flow Manager Aircraft of Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, tel: +31 (0)20 601 2115.

EDVE, Germany

Hello Thomas!
Have you tried calling the airport directly and asking? I’m sure they’ll be able to tell you.

From the pilot’s notes on SkyDemon, it seems like approach, landing and handling with a light GA aircraft costs in the order of 300 EUR.