Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Ice - is it overdone

Interesting discussion on the PA46 forums regarding risk and experience. In it we discussed ice. Pilots who have flown commercial or other deiced aircraft tend to be a bit calmer about ice even in non-deiced aircraft.

Interested in views. I have to say that having not turned on deicing frequently when accreting a small amount of ice I do tend to be a bit calmer. Usually the ice is just not that bad. Easy to say of course when you know you can get rid of most of it but still.

But as an instructor I can’t see how you can teach anything other than ice is bad, stay out and if you get in it, get out ASAP. You can’t say use your judgement as the student has very little of that.

EGTK Oxford

I think it is not overdone. The problem is that although most or at least many times it is only "a little)..you never know when it will hit you real hard. And then it will threaten your life within moments. Looks at the TBM rash in New Jersey … it’s scary how quickly these things can happen.
I don’t feel like flying in icing conditions anyway. I have TKS, but I hope I’ll never need it.

Last winter I went up on a grim day to do some IMC training, i.e. planend a flight that I knew would be 80pct in IMC just for the sake of training. I also knew that 0c was around 3-3500ft, so plenty of IMC down tot he 1500ft ceiling. During the flight (roundtrip), I deliberatery climbed to 4000 to get some icing experience. I wanted to see how quickly it would build up, peformance impact, etc etc. I’ve seen icing during my initial IMC training, but that is a few years ago. I build up around 0.5cm before decending back down and did it a few times.

Long story short, after landing I was casually talking to one of the local instructors while refueling and he was schocked that I had 1) planned an trip in known IMC, IMC ratings are for emergencies only, and 2) had deliberately tried to pick up ice.