Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Garmin 1000 Training

Can anyone recommend any Garmin 1000 quick training guides, apps or software (Mac)? I’ve downloaded the official guides and got one cheap ipad app which simulates the PFD, however some of the guides and software to buy are really pricey. I’m trying to read up before DA42 conversion next month. Thanks

Now retired from forums best wishes

I used the Garmin 1000 for the PC – dont know whether they have a Mac version but I guess it would run under BootCamp.

Works perfectly and everything you need to be a self taught expert. I have said for some time get totally proficient with it on the simulator rather than waste time in the cockpit, makes the time spent flying so much more productive.

I reviewed some Youtube videos, which I found useful. I also aquired a training CD, which I believe is available by request from Diamond. I learned G1000 first in the Caravan, and then cross country in a DA-42. It does take a few hours to get used to. My best advice is to seek out a few hours right seat first, so you can learn the G1000, while a pilot actually flies, and watches for traffic.

Home runway, in central Ontario, Canada, Canada

The PC simulator is very good. That together with the G1000 pilot manual will help you learn almost everything you need. The rest comes with experience and an occasional peek in the manual.

LFPT, LFPN

As mentioned, I agree with the PC simulator. The hardest part for myself was G1000 IFR with procedures. The first couple of times I did get a “what the heck is it doing now” feeling and that’s not something I’d want in IMC conditions at foreign airports (flew IFR in VMC conditions on a calm day at that occasion). A G1000 proficient pilot in the RHS is not a bad idea or vice versa as Pilot_DAR points out.

I’ve had two major difficulties learning the G1000.