Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flying in Europe for the first time!

Hello all,

I am an US Pilot with instrument rating. I currently own an 2020 Cirrus SR 22 with total of 350 hours (300 in Cirrus SR22) and fly within the busy NY Bravo airspace. I have managed to find a rental 2005 Cirrus SR22 with Avidyne Avionics Garmin (430 without WASS). My plan would be to pick up the airplane near Paris then fly to south of France, Corsica, Sardinia and Ibiza. The idea of flying in Europe seems very excited however I am few concerns.

1. Is there much paperwork that need to be filled out when crossing over to different country? Covid forms, customs, immigration etc
2. I use Foreflight exclusively and prefer to use it in Europe. Is that sufficient or I should get familiar with other apps or websites such at Autorouter to file IFR?
3. Am I required to file IFR when cross borders into different countries.
4. Any GA friendly airport in South of france, Corsica, Sardinia and Ibiza.

Thank you in advance for any help!!

New York, United States

1. No paperwork at all really. Print a couple of blanc Gen Decs but I’ve only needed them once in Rotterdam in alö these years.

Scenarios:

*EU/Schengen → EU/Schengen
eg France → Italy
no customs required
no immigration required
(except in France if NOTAMd and Greece which needs airport of entry)

*EU/Schengen → EU/Non Schengen
eg Italy → Croatia
no customs required
immigration / border control required

EU/Non Schengen → EU/Non Schengen
eg Croatia → Cyprus
no customs required
immigration required

Non EU/Schengen → EU/Schengen
eg Switzerland → Germany
no customs required unless goods to declare
no immigration required

2. I use Foreflight exclusively for Europe VFR and IFR. Happy to set up a video meet to give you some hints and tricks.

3. Generally, a vfr or ifr flightplan is required, but there are exceptions (eg some countries accept border crossing without flightplan outside controlled airspace).