Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Jetprop! (and import questions)

I am giving serious though to upgrading to an N Reg Jetprop PT6 35 or DLX in the next few months. I have been flying a PA46 Malibu Mirage for the last 6 years, and before that a TBM 700 for several years. My wife is encouraging me to head for a turboprop again as we are planning to move to a warmer EU country in a couple of years, but still maintain a UK base, so speed, jetA availability, grass field capability and sub 2t cost issues are at the forefront.

Two options:

Upgrade my 2006 Mirage. Pros: new engine, I have invested tons in keeping all the complex systems well maintained (pressurisation, hydraulics etc etc), I know and like the avionics (Avidyne and good navigators and AP). Cons: time (Rocket Engineering wont even think about starting before xmas) and $700k cost
Purchase a mid time used Jetprop. Pros: get it soon (not getting any younger 63), cost. Cons: uncertainty on real quality of engine and systems, avionics.
In both cases I am really confused about import duty/VAT issues and would appreciate any advice.

My Mirage was imported into the EU via the UK in 2012 years ago and has the EU Certificate/C88.

If I send it to the US for the Jetprop conversion will I have to pay UK Import Duty/VAT on the cost of the conversion, or might this fall under the exemption for aircraft parts I have read about? The aircraft was in the UK on Brexit day. Does this mean that if I rebased it in the EU in a couple of years I would have to pay then EU Import Duty on its full market value then? Would it lose its UK import duty paid status then?

If instead a bought an existing EU based used Jetprop now and use it in the UK, I assume I would have to pay UK import duty, correct?. When I then move it back to the EU in a couple if years do I have to pay EU duty then, or would the prior free circulation/C88 certificate still be valid?

Thank you very much for any and all wisdom!