Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Engine Out Survival Tactics

Hello EuroGA!

I have been talking with Peter about my new book (which he is currently reviewing). He has graciously allowed me to make a post here to tell you about this exciting new read!

First off…my goal is to make GA (everywhere) safer. Period.

When I found out that fatalities from engine loss events (in the USA) was the 2nd leading cause of deaths in GA, AND that ~30% of engine loss accidents are purely mechanical failures…I was shocked.

I am a retired USAF F-16 pilot and current test pilot for Lockheed Martin. In the military we train for hours and hours on engine loss procedures and emergencies. And we have the luxury of nice simulators as well, to aid in this training. As an avid GA pilot, I was concerned with the level and emphasis of engine loss training provided to the average GA pilot. Hint: it’s not much.

So I wrote this book…and took techniques and such from the military and applied them to GA. These techniques work for ANY GA single engine airplane, and can help you become a better and safer pilot or instructor pilot. Seriously, you will learn more than you ever wanted to know on what to do when your engine quits.

Okay. So if you’re still with me, please check out my webpage, Facebook page, or Twitter feed. And feel free to ask questions. If you are not so certain, and would like more info, please check out a webinar I did with the EAA at http://eaavideo.org Its about an hour long, it’s FREE and it gives a bit of a primer on the book and I discuss a lot of what these tactics and such really are.

I appreciate your time, and support. And thanks again for allowing me to at least point you in the right direction for advanced engine loss training should you decide you’d like to know more.

The book is currently only an eBook and is available on iPad, Amazon Kindle, Nook, and a few others in Europe too.

Thank you.

Nate “Buster” Jaros
http://engineout.weebly.com