Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Customs airport in N. Germany needed

I plan to fly from Wick Scotland (EGPC) to the Berlin area (EDAY or EDAZ) and will need to clear customs in N. Germany on the way. Some large-looking airports near the flight path are Hamburg EDDH and Bremen EDDW.

Can anyone suggest an easy and inexpensive airport for customs clearance as point of entry?

And can anyone help me understand where to find this information myself, preferably with links? I’m new to European flying (US pilot) and the learning curve is steep.

Many thanks

EHLE, Netherlands

Do you have to land before your destination for fuel? If not, EDAZ has customs and immigration, free of charge, just PNR 2h. Same for EDAY, customs/immigration free of charge with PNR.

In Germany, a lot of small GA airfields have full customs/immigration, no need to go to a big airport.

PS: Coming from Scotland (EU but not Schengen), all you need is an airfield with immigration, no need for customs. A lot more German airfields have immigration without customs.

Last Edited by achimha at 10 Jul 15:16

achimha wrote:

EDAZ has customs and immigration, free of charge

Excellent, that makes this unbelievably easy! Now where would I find that information in the future?

EHLE, Netherlands

EDAY: https://www.flugplatz-strausberg.de/?path_wechsel=en&path=content/de/flugplatz.php&lang=de&nv=&id=

EDAZ: http://www.flugplatz-schoenhagen.aero/en/for-pilots/fbo-service/border-control-customs-clearance.html

Best source is usually the airfield’s web page. Much better than AIP or any of the databases.

Last Edited by achimha at 10 Jul 15:26

Is there a general source for this kind of information rather than trying to find any airport’s own web page?
EDIT: I see your note.. AIP.. how do I find this information? Sorry for the very basic question

Last Edited by Nickmatic at 10 Jul 15:28
EHLE, Netherlands

This topic is a hot one in Europe… I have just started this thread.

Administrator