Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Aquila 210 dead stick on highway

Yesterday an Aquila 210 based at LOWG had to perform a dead stick landing on a Slovenian highway, presumably due to loss of engine power. In spite of busy traffic it was successful and no one was injured. Airplane totaled.

https://www.24ur.com/novice/slovenija/na-avtocesti-zasilno-pristalo-manjse-letalo.html

Last Edited by Snoopy at 06 Aug 07:17
always learning
LO__, Austria

What I don’t get is why he didn’t aim for a meadow on the other side of the highway… We had similar case few years ago in Croatia.

LDZA LDVA, Croatia

As a glider pilot, I don’t think the highway option was necessarily such a bad choice.

Let’s have a look at google maps east of the Brezje exit of the E61:
1) The fields are all quite short (<200m).
2) The fields show an irregular orientation pattern (visible from above) indicative of a very hilly terrain in general.
3) The main orientation of the fields is more or less oriented 90° with respect to the highway which typically indicates a significant gradient of the fields (up- or downslope not easy to determine when looking from above).
4) No obstacle free approach to the fields due to trees and a power line (the power line is visible in the pictures of the linked article and the (shadows of) poles are also visible on google maps).
5) Landing was in the direction of the traffic flow, i.e. speed difference within reasonable limits.

Germany

Two guys landed on a small, congested road near me recently, and as it happened my wife and I had driven that stretch of road about 10 or 15 minutes beforehand. They hit a car but nobody was hurt. We drove through there again yesterday and I showed my wife how the pilot dove under an intersection traffic light arm and where he stopped. He did a good job.