Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

N-reg / G-Reg vs EASA/FAA conversion

Hi,

I’m aware that the answer to this question would probably rival the bible in size… Nevertheless, as someone going though the purchase of a first plane, I need to hear from fellow (and experienced) pilots.

I’m in the process of buying a used Cirrus. Most Cirrus, for a reason I don’t really know, are on the N Reg.

I’m a EASA/UK pilot. Initially, I just thought that I would get a N reg and move it to G. But now, after reading about the complexity and pitfalls of the process, I’m just wondering if I just should convert my license to the FAA.

Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

EGSU, United Kingdom

Many (I wouldn‘t say most) Cirrus are N-reg because Cirrus is in the US, and by default, aircraft are delivered N-reg. And many buyers here in the past

either thought that maintenance and airworthiness would be easier then on a European reg (which CAN be true)

or thought that change of registration process would be a potential trouble and therefore decided to just stay N-reg, despite not believing in any further advantages.

And because getting an FAA license based on a European license can be an easy exercise (if you have the right contacts).

N-reg can also be a disadvantage though, particularly if you don‘t have an IA nearby (rather unlikely in the UK).

So, you are in the same situation. You have decide yourself whether the above are any factors.

An additional one could be future resale to the US (very high prices obtainable atm) which would of course be much easier if the aircraft is N-reg.

Last Edited by boscomantico at 18 Oct 15:57
Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany

The going trend nowadays is to leave it where it is (EASA vs N). For G-reg it will depend if the (pre Brexit) rules are kept or altered.