Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Diamond DA42-VI as a good Scandiavia / Euro tourer? vs Cirrus SR22?

I am an American with a PPL with only 200 hours now in Norway. I dont have any experience with Diamonds or Cirrus or flying around Europe, and any advice would be appreciated!

Im looking for an aircraft, budget around 1m, that will work as a great way to travel around Scandinavia and also some trips down to the alps / spain. Im looking at the DA42, here is my beginner logic. I am a new pilot and I do want a new modern aircraft with all the safety features, so no cool ideas like jetprops please :)

DA50 – Worried about getting a low serial number aircraft, only 750nm range, maybe it will end up being a dunce like the Cessna TTx.

DA62 – No range or speed improvements over the DA42, but 400k price increase, and I dont need room for 6 people. I also wonder how the visiblity out the windows is, the front window looks rather small. But most of all maybe just too much aircraft for me for now.

Cirrus SR22 – Best contender? , so if anyone has any DA42-VI vs Cirrus SR22 thoughts, please share! I am thinking better to avoid avgas dependence, and easier to start engines on the diesels.

DA42-VI, I get an aircraft right at the 1999kg limit, FADEC engines, Jet fuel, 1200nm range, 190 knt high speed cruise. Is the bubble canopy great? Because it looks great for VFR flying and enjoying the views.

So anyone have any thoughts on having a DA42 as low time pilot for traveling around Norway / Scandinavia / Europe? Pros or cons vs a Cirrus? Anything I should be thinking about when buying new?

For example, one thread I read said the DA42 gets really cold in the winter and lacks sufficient heating. It is -15C here often in the winter. If that really were to be the case and you guys think AVGAS dependance isnt a big deal it could sway me the other way. Flying wouldnt be fun for me or passengers if we are freezing.

Norway

Welcome on the forum !