Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Advice/Guidance: November Touring / Winter IFR Weather

I am planning a trip from the UK to southern Germany and potentially Austria for a week during the last two weeks of November. The trip is meant to be flown IFR but since I am relatively new to the world of IFR flying and have little experience with winter weather (got the IR in spring/summer) I was hoping to open a discussion / get some detailed guidance from some of the more experienced members on this forum as to what you look out for. Specifically:

• Planning thought process (process from inception to day of flight)
  • Things / weather phenomenons to definitely avoid
  • Time frame of planning
  • Go-no-go factors
  • Tools used

I know there are several useful sources already out there and I have read Peter’s post on IFR weather planning / cloud tops and this has helped on past trips (link here).

In part I hope this can be a useful pool of resource for other IFR pilots looking for guidance around weather planning in the upcoming winter months.

Below is a little more detail around the specific specs of the aircraft I will be using:

• Ceiling: 17’000ft (oxygen available)
  • Endurance: 6hrs
  • TKS available (non-FIKI and usage time of circa 60min, 30min on max)
  • ADL120 for in-flight weather
EGSX

A few points:

Southern Germany (especially the southeast) has lots of fog in that kind of season, which might preclude a landing, possibly even if your destination has an ILS (don’t know if you are comfortable flying one to near mimimums.)
Often, planning to land in the early or mid afternoon helps, but not always.