Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

4G coming to aviation?

This (German) and this is some new network which has antennae pointing upwards.

It is a joint venture with Inmarsat whose network would be used when the aircraft is too high.

It appears likely that this is not going to be available for roaming on terrestrial contract phones. Does anyone know anything about it?

Existing 4G (and to a much lesser extent 3G) does work when airborne but above some 2000ft it is highly sporadic. All of Belgium has zero coverage (for my Vodafone UK phone) and on say a 5hr flight one might get a few seconds of connectivity once an hour. It has been sufficient for getting tafs/metars though and I have used my Thuraya satphone much less as a result.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

Peter wrote:

but above some 2000ft it is highly sporadic.

I have no experience in Belgium but I recall even making a VOIP call at about FL100 in france, and there being consistently better network there than the UK, where it also dies as soon as you get higher than the control tower!

Here is a good thread on that topic, but AFAICT this new project won’t roam with existing phones, or at least not with existing terrestrial contracts.

If it worked with existing phones, how will it hand over to Inmarsat? Only by having a “femtocell” in the aircraft. Or maybe a WIFI AP, but that would need the phone to run VOIP. But that suggests dedicated hardware in the aircraft would probably be required even if the ground towers are being used.

Does anyone know anything about it?

Administrator